Defensive Driving and traffic school courses help you to lower auto insurance rates, remove points from driver record, dismiss traffic ticket and to become a responsible driver. This course is 100% online and approved throughout your State. Complete the driving safety course and get rid of traffic tickets or lower your vehicle insurance premiums and keep your driver record clean.

2023 Michigan SOS Point System; Basic Driver Improvement Michigan (BDIC) Online

Michigan BDIC - Point Dismissal Program
► Dismiss traffic ticket in Michigan. ► Avoid points on your driving record. ► Enroll Michigan driving class to remove points from your license.

Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course approved by MI Secretary of State (SOS) to remove ticket points and avoid insurance premium hikes. Also check out Michigan's Basic Speed, Move Over & implied consent laws.

Learn More on Michigan bdic online course, SOS-approved basic driver improvement course.

If you were issued minor traffic infraction ticket in Michigan. Tickets (civil infractions) Eligible for the  Michigan Basic Driver improvement course. The following shows the points for some traffic violations:

Six-Points Traffic Violation
Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle. 6
Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs. 6
Reckless driving. 6
Fleeing or eluding a police officer. 6
Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.10 or more. 6
Refusal to take a chemical test. 6
Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash. 6

Four-Points  Traffic Violation
Impaired driving 4
Drag racing. 4
Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content. 4
16 mph or more over the legal speed limit. 4
Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles. 4

Three-Points  Traffic Violation
Careless driving. 3
Failure to stop at railroad crossing. 3
11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit. 3
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing. 3
Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard. 3
Disobey Stop Sign
Improper Passing

Two-Points  Traffic Violation
10 mph or less over the legal speed limit. 2
Open alcohol container in vehicle. 2
All other moving violations of traffic laws. 2
Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21. 2
Violation of Basic Speed Law 2
Violation of Restricted License 2
Unauthorized or Improper Use of Lights 2
Obstructed Vision or Control (Tinted Windows) 2
Improper or Prohibited Turn 2
Improper/Unauthorized Use of Lights 2
Improper Lane Use 2
Improper Crossing Divided Highway 2
Illegal Entrance/Exit on Expressway 2
Graduated License Permit 2
Failed to Stop in Assured Clear Distance 2
Failed to Stop/Yield Alley/Private Drive 2
Failed to Yield 2
Failed to Yield to Emergency Vehicle 2
Following to Close-Tailgating 2
Failed to Signal and/or Observe 2
Drove While License Expired 2
Drove While Unlicensed or License Not Valid 2
Drove Without Corrective Lenses 2
Drove Without Due Care and Caution 2
Drove Without Proper License or Endorsement/Vehicle Group Design 2
DWLS - Drove While License Suspended/Revoked/Denied 2
Drove Wrong Way on One-Way Street 2
Drove Left of Center 2
Disobey Traffic Control Device 2
Disobey Traffic Control Device 2
Headlights, Drive Without/Failed to Dim 2
Failed to Have Vehicle Under Control 2

State of Michigan - speeding ticket fines & traffic violation points:

How much is a speeding ticket in Michigan?

Each time you are convicted of a traffic violation, points will be assessed against your drivers license. Below is the chart which shows speeding ticket fines/citation fees and their traffic points for some traffic violations.

Speeding on a Regular Road

Speeding in a School/Emergency Zone

VIOLATION/ Offense  Total Fines/Costs  Ticket Points

VIOLATION/ Offense  Total Fines/Costs  Ticket Points
Speeding 1-5 MPH Over  $115 2

Speeding 1-5 MPH Over  $132 2
Speeding 6-10  MPH Over  $125 2

Speeding 6-10  MPH Over  $152 2
Speeding 11-15  MPH Over  $130 3

Speeding 11-15  MPH Over  $167 3
Speeding 16-20  MPH Over  $140 4

Speeding 16-20  MPH Over  $187 4
Speeding 21-25  MPH Over  $150 4

Speeding 21-25  MPH Over  $200 4
Speeding 26-30  MPH Over  $160 4

Speeding 26-30  MPH Over  $220 4
Speeding 31-35  MPH Over  $170 4

Speeding 31-35  MPH Over  $230 4
Speeding 36 and  MPH Over  $180 4

Speeding 36 and  MPH Over  $250 4

Speeding in a Construction Zone

Speeding on a Highway (Limited Access) 70 mph zone
VIOLATION/ Offense  Total Fines/Costs  Ticket Points

VIOLATION/ Offense  Total Fines/Costs  Ticket Points
Speeding 1-5 MPH Over  $132 3

Speeding 1-5 MPH Over  $115 0
Speeding 6-10  MPH Over  $152 3

Speeding 6-10  MPH Over  $125 1
Speeding 11-15  MPH Over  $167 4

Speeding 11-15  MPH Over  $130 2
Speeding 16-20  MPH Over  $187 5

Speeding 16-20  MPH Over  $140 3
Speeding 21-25  MPH Over  $200 5

Speeding 21-25  MPH Over  $150 3
Speeding 26-30  MPH Over  $220 5

Speeding 26-30  MPH Over  $160 4
Speeding 31-35  MPH Over  $230 5

Speeding 31-35  MPH Over  $170 4
Speeding 36 and  MPH Over  $250 5

Speeding 36 and  MPH Over  $180 4

Got a Traffic Ticket in Michigan, Don’t worry!

Register Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course, also known as - Michigan BDIC Online program, to dismiss your traffic ticket or avoid points on your driving record.

On December 31, 2010 the law that allows qualifying motorist who receive a moving violation in Michigan to have their ticket dismissed went into effect.

The Michigan Department of State offers salvation: “If you take MI SOS Approved basic driver improvement course online and pass the final exam, the demerit points won't be placed on your driving record and the violation won't be disclosed to your insurance company.”

Don't let the traffic points stay on your driving record.

If you've received a traffic ticket with zero points, the citation will still be reported to your insurance company, which will cause a spike in the price of your coverage. In order to take this course, you must have received a notice of eligibility from the Michigan Secretary of State.

You may be eligible to take Michigan BDIC Online if:
  • You have a valid, non-commercial license, with two or fewer points on your record,
  • The violation was not in a Commercial Motor Vehicle,
  • The violation was not a criminal offense,
  • The ticket you received is eligible (e.g., must be for three or fewer points, not for careless or negligent driving, etc.),
  • Most minor traffic violations are eligible for this program.
Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course

The State of Michigan allows eligible drivers to complete a basic driver improvement course program to avoid points acquired from traffic tickets and to reduce your driving points or receive an insurance premium reduction.

A Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) is a defensive driving course online covers topics like: defensive driving strategies and techniques to reduce the chance of collision; how drugs, alcohol, physical conditions and emotions affect driving decisions; how to deal with driver distractions and fatigue; physical forces of a collision; and the importance of occupant safety devices and how to use them correctly.

Upon completion of this online Michigan BDIC within 60 days
of your official state notice, your insurance company won’t be able to use recent ticket points to increase your auto insurance premiums.

This Michigan BDIC is approved by the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) and Course is 100% Online. Prevent the DMV from assessing points to your license and from reporting your violation to your insurance company.

Once a driver takes the course and passes it, the results will be reported to the Michigan Department of State. The points from the violation will not flow to their driving record and the violation will not be disclosed to insurance companies. However the ticket information is still there and may be viewed by courts, law enforcement and other government agencies and used, as required, by law.

Ticketed drivers who opt to take the BDIC under this new Michigan law could save as much as $300 to $500 per year on insurance premiums, which are typically higher for at least three years after a speeding ticket, for instance.

The purpose of driving safety program is to increase road safety awareness by reducing traffic violations and to keep your auto insurance premiums low. Handle Speeding ticket, stop sign citation, lawyer for fighting traffic tickets & other violations.

BEFORE BUYING A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED WARRANTY USED CAR: Use car budget calculator - you can afford on used car • Choose appropriate car model • Check pre-owned car costs, fuel economy and other standard features • Purchase certified pre-owned car for manufacturer & additional extended warranty • Verify used cars documents - bill of sale, title transfers, duplicate title, license plate & registration • Get Best & cheap car insurance on used cars • Know service & vehicle history reports • Get used cars for sale nearby • Have pre purchase inspection - car exterior, interior, tyres & engine • Do test drive the car on different road conditions.